Features » User Management » Delete, disable or lock out a user

Delete, disable or lock out a user

When you no longer wish an account holder to have access to the CMS you have several options: lock out, disable or delete.
 

These each have implications so ask yourself these questions:

  • Is this a temporary removal of privileges?
  • Do this user's personal pages need to remain on the site?
  • Does this person need to remain in the staff list?
  • Should this user account be permanently removed?
 
If this account simply needs different permissions you can manage their access to individual features as well as adjust their account type or user type.
 

Account status comparison

Result Lock out
Disable Delete
User CANNOT log into the Edlio CMS
User can be seen on main Staff Directory no no
User's personal pages are on public website no no
User's data and personal pages are permanently removed no no
 

Lock out

When a user account is locked out all their information, personal pages and staff directory listing remain on the website, same as before. The only difference is that the account holder can no longer log into the website using their credentials.
 
This can be temporary; you can undo this change later.
 

To lock out a user:

  1. Navigate to User Management
  2. Find the person and click on their name
  3. Click the Edit profile button on the top left
  4. Scroll to the very bottom to check Lock out
  5. Remember to Save.

Disable

When a user account is disabled the account holder can no longer log into the website. Their data and personal pages remain saved in the CMS, but those pages cannot be seen on the public website and their name is no longer visible in the Staff Directory.
 
This can be temporary; you can undo this change later.
 

To disable a user:

  1. Navigate to User Management
  2. Find the person and click on their name
  3. Click the Edit profile button on the top left
  4. Scroll to the very bottom to check Disable
  5. Remember to Save.

Delete

When a user account is deleted the account holder can no longer log into the website and all their account information is permanently removed.
 
This is permanent. All their data and personal pages are immediately deleted and cannot be retrieved.
 

To delete a user:

  1. Navigate to User Management
  2. Find the person and click on their name
  3. Click the Delete user button on the top right
  4. You'll be asked to confirm that you want to delete